1851 October 30
No dates given.

Organized in 1851 as the Australian Mission. Renamed Australasian Mission in 1854. Renamed Australian Mission in 1898 when the New Zealand Mission was created.

Read More

See All Participants of Organization

All Missions

John Murdock Called as President

1851 March–1852 June See Missionaries

Mission Founded

1851 October 30

Charles Wesley Wandell Called as President

1852 May–1853 April See Missionaries

Augustus Alwin Farnham Called as President

1852 August–1854 January See Missionaries

Mission renamed

1854 January 1

The mission expanded to include New Zealand and Tasmania so was renamed the Australasian Mission in 1854.

Frederick Ellis Barker Called as President

1897 December–1900 July See Missionaries

Andrew Smith Jr. Called as President

1898 January 1–June 23 See Missionaries

Reorganization of mission

1898 January 1

The Australasian Mission was discontinued and split to create the Australian Mission and New Zealand Mission.

Andrew Fjeld Called as President

1900 January–1901 September See Missionaries

Mission home moved


Mission Office located at 32 Too-Good Street, Erskineville, Sydney.

James Duckworth Jr. Called as President

1901 July–1906 July See Missionaries

Mission home moved


Mission home located at 8 Too-Good St., Erskineville, Sydney, New South Wales. 

Mission home moved


Mission Office located at 65 Station Street, Newtown, Sydney.

William Armstrong Called as President

1906 January–1909 January See Missionaries

Mission home moved


Mission office located at Victory Pennell Street, Enmore, Sydney.

William Weldon Taylor Called as President

1912 June–1914 September See Missionaries

Arnold Daniel Miller Sr. Called as President

1917–1920 See Missionaries

Don Carlos Rushton Called as President

1920 October–1924 September See Missionaries

Charles Henry Hyde Called as President

1924 June–1926 December See Missionaries

Mission home moved


Mission office moved to 27 Simmons Street, Enmore.

Mission boundaries


The Australian Mission included the Commonwealth of Australia (including Tasmania) and was divided into six districts, one in each state. District Headquarters were located in each capital city (Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Hobart, Melbourne, and Perth). 

Leonidas DeVon Mecham Called as President

1931 January–1932 March See Missionaries

Thomas David Rees Jr. Called as President

1935 May–1938 May See Missionaries

James Judd Called as President

1938 March–1944 April See Missionaries
Australian (1851 - ?) Profile
Mission Headquarters
Missionaries in Tasmania
Australian Missionaries
Victoria Conference, January 1914
Queensland Conference, Nov 1913
Queensland Conference, April 1914
Missionaries from Australian Mission
Queensland Conference, circa 1913
Queensland Conference, April 1913