Indian Territory

1855 June 26
No dates given.

At a conference held in Salt Lake City on 8 April 1855 a number of missionaries were called to serve in the United States and abroad. Arriving at St. Louis, Missouri, on 26 June 1855, they opened the Indian Territory Mission, which followed the boundaries of the what is now the state of Oklahoma.

Five years later the missionaries returned home and work did not recommence until 1877 when a few missionaries served for a few months in the area. Finally, on 20 April 1883, the Indian Territory Mission was once more reorganized. It was renamed the Southwestern States Mission on 29 March 1898 then became the Central States Mission in 1904.

There were many other missions focused on the American Indians. In the early years of the church they were not organized as missions with presidents and individuals often served unofficially or in unorganized missions as they fulfilled their duties in settlement. However, a few were organized with presidents in April 1855: Elk Mountain in Moab, Utah; Las Vegas, Nevada; Salmon River in Idaho; and Shoshone at Fort Supply, Wyoming.

Read More

See All Participants of Organization

All Missions

Missionaries Called

1855 April

At the April General Conference missionaries were called to open what became the Indian Territory Mission, the boundaries of which is now the state of Oklahoma.

Henry Willliam Miller Called as President

1855 May–1856 November See Missionaries

Mission Founded

1855 June 26

Washington Norwood Cook Called as President

1856 October–1858 September See Missionaries

Henry Eyring Called as President

1858 September–1860 May See Missionaries

Mission Closed


The missionaries end their missions and return home. Mission closed.

Mathew William Dalton Called as President

1877 March 9–November 1 See Missionaries

George Teasdale Called as President

Mission Reopened

1883 April

After the April General Conference the mission was reorganized and missionary work recommenced in the area.

Andrew Kimball Called as President

1885 January–1887 April See Missionaries

Boundary Change


The territory of Oklahoma was added to the Indian Territory Mission in 1894. Then the states of Arkansas and Kansas were added in 1895.

Boundary Change


Texas came within the boundaries of the mission.

William Thomas Jack Called as President

1897 April–1898 March See Missionaries

Name Change

1898 March

The boundary changes of 1895 and 1897 necessitated a name change to the Southwestern States Mission.

Indian Territory (1855 - ?) Profile
Indian Territory Missionaries
Indian Territory Missionaries
Missionaries in the Indian Territory