Western States

Alternate Names
1896 December 15
No dates given.

Organized 15 December 1896 as the Colorado Mission. The name changed to the Western States Mission on 1 April 1907.

Read More

See All Participants of Organization

All Missions

John Law Blyth Called as President

1874 February 6–May 5 See Missionaries

Ernst Albert Tietjen Called as President

1875 October 9 See Missionaries

Alex F McDonald Jr. Called as President

1879 November 10 See Missionaries

John Whittaker Taylor Called as President

1896 December–1901 March See Missionaries

Mission Founded

1896 December 15

Missionaries Arrive

1896 December 15

John W. Taylor arrives in Denver with three other missionaries. At the time, the mission comprised only the State of Colorado. 

Boundary Change

1900 November

Nebraska, North and South Dakota were transferred to the Colorado Mission.

Joseph Alexander McRae Called as President

1901 March–1909 January See Missionaries

Mission Name Change

1907 April

Due to the mission expanding well beyond the borders of the state of Colorado, the mission was renamed the Western States Mission. 

John Lester Herrick Called as President

1908 December–1919 June See Missionaries

Headquarters Move


The mission home moved from 622 W Sixth Street, Denver, Colorado, to 242 Broadway, Denver, Colorado. 

John Miner Knight Called as President

1919 June–1928 April See Missionaries

Headquarters Move


The mission home was moved to 538 East Seventh Ave., Denver, Colorado.

Boundary Change

1925 July 12

At a conference held in Minneapolis the North Central States Mission is established. The states of North and South Dakota were removed from the Western States Mission to the North Central States Mission with the exception of South Dakota's Black Hills region.

Elias Smith Woodruff Called as President

1928 March–1933 December See Missionaries

Boundary Change


The mission was comprised of parts of the states of Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, New Mexico, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

Joseph John Daynes Jr. Called as President

1933 October–1937 June See Missionaries

William West Seegmiller Called as President

1937 May–1941 July See Missionaries

Elbert Raine Curtis Called as President

1941 July–1945 February See Missionaries

Albert Lewis Elggren Called as President

1954–1958 See Missionaries
Western States Mission Home
Denver District and Mission Office
Conference of Colorado Missionaries
United States Mission Presidents
Nebraska Conference, 1911