Doctrine and Covenants First Edition (1835)

The Doctrine and Covenants was the second effort to publish in book form revelations received by Joseph Smith. The revelations were selected by a committee consisting of Joseph Smith, Oliver Cowdery, Sidney Rigdon, and Frederick G. Williams. Additionally, seven essays were included that were later known as the Lectures on Faith. The essays constituted the “doctrine,” while the revelations constituted the “covenants.” The books were printed and bound in Ohio and accepted by a general Church assembly.